Another day in 5ville

Saturday, June 26th, 2010

Let’s see who the songs about town are.

KKCK:

Cartel “The Perfect Mistake”
I’m happy to see Cartel get a second chance at success, but I’m not sure if this is the song to cement their presence.

OneRepublic “Secrets”
This one might be a bit to orchestral at the beginning, but it still fits what they do.  I’m guessing somewhere in the #15 peak range.

The Script “The Man Who Can’t Be Moved”
I’m still not sure what to think of this band.  This song isn’t helping.

Tino Coury “Diary”
Oh snap Tino.  I could have told you not to read your girl’s diary.  No good ever comes of that.  You either find out she’s in love with somebody else (like you did) or she doesn’t mention you at all (happened to me once…not sure which is worse).

Maroon 5 “Misery”
The new Maroon 5 album was produced by überproducer Robert John “Mutt” Lange.  Game over.  Get ready to hear lots and lots of Maroon 5 over the course of the next year.

Pick to click: Maroon 5

Tonight I was hoping to write something about Toy Story 3, but the theater was sold out.  I’ve never had to switch plans because of a movie being sold out before.  I can’t even wrap my brain around the fact it happened, and almost a week after the movie opened, and on a Wednesday.  I can speak to those on the fence about The A-Team.  If you enjoyed the old show in the least, even as a kid, see this movie.  The actors nail all the characters, and it feels modern without being done as a “modern, edgy take”.  It’s two hours of pure fun at the movies, and I can’t even think of a movie I’ve had more fun watching in the theater in recent memory.  It’s worth at least matinée price just for the guy who plays H.M. Murdock.  He steals every scene he’s in, and in a good way.

*******

I’m sorry for not finishing this until late Friday/very early Saturday.  I had all the best intentions to finish this earlier.  Thursday was spent with Kate and Braeden, and today’s plan was to finish this after the Weekend Warm-Up, but severe weather had other plans.  This day has me so frazzled and out of phase that I don’t think I can communicate anything very effectively.

Oh, I will say it was beyond awesome to turn on Comedy Central, and hear the theme to “Futurama” knowing what would follow would be a totally new episode.

There is also new Sarah Harmer in my ears.  It sounds good, but nowhere near as good as my son saying “I love you” for the first time today.

These are the days of our lives.  Live them.

Leave a comment